Tracking Down Emma: Part 2

At about 2.15 I got a call from Emma and half an hour later I was back at the stage door of the Royal Shakespeare Theatre waiting to meet her. Her hospitality took me by surprise. I guess my expectations are that these people will be taking time out of their busy days to sign some DVDs for a fan so the meetings would be brief and very to the point. This couldn’t be further from what happened with Emma. We chatted for ages over a coffee about all sorts from The Office to Life’s Too Short, and I ended up getting tickets for her show, The Heart of Robin Hood, where I would meet her afterwards for a quick photo.

RSC Theatre. Lovely place.

So I went off around town with my Mum and we grabbed a quick bit to eat before strolling back to the theatre for the show. I had no idea what to expect, and it turns out neither did anyone else. About half an hour into the play the lead actress playing Marion injured herself and ran off stage. After a few minutes pause a member of staff announced a short break while Emma gets ready to step in. So if any other out there are reading this I suggest you meet me because I am a lucky charm, although your friends/family/colleagues should be cautious.

The play was very good, and funny, so if you do get a chance to go you absolutely should although it is almost sold out. We headed to the stage door for the third time that day after the show where Emma was waiting and we had a quick photo. This was the only point when I felt like a mad celebrity stalker. I’m not saying I didn’t look like one before, I just didn’t feel like one. Here is pictoral evidence of my meeting with Emma, and evidence of the signature:

Me and Emma. I'm happier than I look.

Emma's signature

Remember to keep an eye out on the blog tomorrow when I’ll be uploading the Christmas Special of Tracking Down Ricky filmed in Stratford-Upon-Avon, or just subscribing by clicking the button on the right and you will be emailed when it appears. Simple.

Leave a Reply

